The Million Posts I have in Drafts

So I am, in all honestly, a pretty terrible blogger. Sparse posting and a lack of enthusiasm for editing has left my WordPress drafts folder full of 89 posts (?!?). A significant number of those drafts are reviews when, at the beginning of the year, I told myself I would get better at reviewing books as I read them. Which I did but I never told myself I’d get better at publishing them. Oops. Anyway here is a list of the million posts I have in drafts. Well, actually, it’s only 10 of them.

 This is for Top Ten Tuesday, you can find the other posts here and you can check out all my list posts here. Let me know if you’ve ready any of these books in the comments section! Also if you’re a blogger do you also struggle to review? Do you review everything you read? Do you hoard drafts like I do or are your post straight out the door?

The Surface Breaks

1. Oh this novel was terrible. It is basically the original fairy tale (which, lets face it, isn’t that great) with some pointless stuff thrown in there. What was the point in Gaia’s bleeding feet? Was Oscar’s company falling apart and his lack of interest meant to go nowhere or was there a point to all that?

Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

2. I am still reading this in my defence but currently the half finished review consists of just the words ‘cringey dialogue’. Hopefully I can add some more words to that soon.

Slay

3. I loved this book but I still haven’t reviewed it. I am way worse at reviewing novels I actually enjoyed than typing up a quick rant review, does anyone else find that?

The Starless Sea

4. This review is pretty well done but I’m still 50 pages from finishing the novel and feel I should give it at least that to redeem itself. It’s just so slow. So little happens and what does happen takes about an age to occur. And also the characters are always super obnoxious.

The Foundling

5. Another very nearly finished review. So nearly finished I have scheduled the post for later this week so get hyped for my gushing over how much I loved this novel!

Fangirl

6. A nearly finished review. I didn’t like Cath very much at all in this book, she was very self centred but I loved reading a novel set at university. I really don’t think it’s a setting explored enough in YA given how life changing it is for many young people!

The Mercies

7. So I’ve read three of Karen Milwood Hargrave’s books and this is the only one I actually enjoyed. The first one was a little young, so fair enough, The Deathless Girls fell a bit flat for me but The Mercies was gripping. It’s based on a true and terrible story that I highly recommend to anyone.

Shadow and Bone

8. I’ve actually recently picked up sequel! Which I’m enjoying but not overly invested in? I’m not quite sure why but I don’t really care about the characters as much as I do with other reads, and I also found Shadow and Bone very same old same old fantasy YA.

I Know Why The Caged Birds Sings

9. This autobiography is shocking. It’s dark, powerful and well written and I highly recommend, but definitely not one for the YA readers reading this post.

The Testaments

X. And my tenth unpublished draft review is of The Testaments, sequel to The Handmaid’s Tale. I listened to this on audiobook and it was good, a little less graphic and dark compared to the first one and sort of lacked any point but it was still interesting to see Aunt Lydia’s backstory.

15 thoughts on “The Million Posts I have in Drafts

  1. Great list! I really enjoyed reviewing Shadow and Bone, but that’s because I didn’t like it very much and I’m nothing if not salty. I do like to write reviews as soon as I finish a book, otherwise I know I’d never get around to reviewing them, and I feel like writing a review puts me in the right head space for my next read.

    Like

      1. It was simply very of its time YA fantasy, which isn’t its fault because that was what was selling in that dark, post-Twilight era of YA fantasy where every book cover had a ball gown on it. The series got better for me with each book, but I loved the Six of Crows duology much, much more.

        Like

  2. Why not leaving them and consider this your mini reviews post? I would have done mini reviews by the time now 🙂 and Shadow and Bone is published in 2012 so old indeed haha.

    Like

  3. I’m definitely the hoarder of draftes 😀 I still have like 7 from the previous two years. I made it my goal to go through them all this month, finish if possible, discard if garbage and clear out my drafts folder. Lol

    Like

  4. Every once in a while I start a review before I finish and then go back after and tweak it. Normally, I wait until the end, but some books require that in the moment review writing. It will be fun to go back after you finish and see if your thoughts changed.

    My TTT.

    Like

  5. I have a similar problem in building up drafts in progress and not reviewing books. haha. I’m trying to get better, since this was supposed to be the year I finally gave a lot of time to my blog, but I haven’t posted a book review in a month. Whoops.

    I am curious towards the new Hunger Game book, but what really caught my eye in this list was Fangirl. I always hear so much love for the book, but I didn’t like it. The romance broke it for me completely, and while I liked the anxiety presentation and family dynamics, I was also not a huge fan of Cath… I had been looking forward to the book because of its college setting and fanfiction presentation, so I was pretty upset that I wasn’t able to fall in love with it.

    Like

  6. I try to write my reviews right away because I have a terrible memory, but I do read books that I don’t review on the blog. (I still review them on Goodreads.) I just picked up a copy of I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, and now I’m even more excited to pick it up after your words. ❤

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.